top of page

Being a shepherd, what does it mean?

Farm animal care could be a real challenge. In some regions in the world (including Serbia) it is very underrated profession. Though the people who produce organic food are the most important in the food chain. To produce organic food you need to invest great effort. Animals have to eat fresh leaves and grass, so taking them for a long walks - at least 6 hours each day - is a must. And deep forest becomes your new home.


As a shepherd I have learned to interpret animals language. They resonate in a special frequency, their senses are much more developed then in humans. Believe me, some animals are on a higher intelligence level comparing to the people I have met during my life. I spent several years with goats, sheep and dogs, and I wouldn't change that experience for anything in this world!


Before you take any action with animals, your energy must be calm. Goats are hypersensitive on stress. They can smell it. My first "shepherd days" were funny. Because I came from urban surroundings, I was restless. What happened? Instead of following me, goats were all around the village. They gave me a perfect training! When I managed to collect them ( after 45 minutes of running), I was too exhausted to think. And the miracle occurred - 45 goats suddenly surrounded me! What was the next step? I didn't have a clue. Waiting to see... Then I've realized. If I wanted to become a pack leader, I had to harmonize with the nature. To sharpen my senses and to live in the present. To adore NOW.


If we speak about characters, goats are lively, very intelligent and stubborn. They have to walk due to their digestive system. Goats have to eat leaves and tree peel to get vitamins.

Prepare to go to the woods every day, if you don't have it on your property. Goats are usually kept because they give a milk. But there are also species, like Boer goat, which farmers keep only for meet.


Sheep are a bit calmer. Keeping goats and sheep together is very useful. Goats are more capable in finding a proper food and sheep can be healthier if they follow the goats.


No matter which species we domesticate, we must provide enough food, e.g. hay and corn, for winter or rainy days. Each farmer is obliged to proceed regular vaccination through the veterinary. Vaccination prevents some common diseases.


Start farming if you are animal lover. Treat them well and you will get much!

Comments


bottom of page